Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Integrated Farming Systems

Register

Click Here!

duckies

Good morning to all! My name is Jackie Fernandes. I am a social health scientist cum duck farmer in Goa. I am looking for reference material as well as names of resource people- experts in integrated farming. I would be grateful to anyone who could pass me this information. Thank you for your attention.

maitys

Good morning to all! My name is Jackie Fernandes. I am a social health scientist cum duck farmer in Goa. I am looking for reference material as well as names of resource people- experts in integrated farming. I would be grateful to anyone who could pass me this information. Thank you for your attention.
Integrated farming is a traditional. Chinese practice has in recent years been further supported by the concept of an all-round 'development of agriculture, animal husbandry, fisheries and other sideline occupations.
Redefined version of IFS is known as “ Biologically Integrated Farming System- BIFS “ is based on “there is no waste”, and “waste are only a misplace resource which can be converted to a valuable material for other products”

There is no “ One size fits all “ kind of model in BIFS .
All sustainable and successful BIFS’s are custom designed .
BIFS are designed using a wide range of local practices with pick and choose components as per local market , local taste buds , local bio diversity and local environment .
Some referral hints to custom design your IFS in GOA .

Local market and food choice :
Goan cuisine consists of rice, seafood, coconut, vegetables, meat and baked products etc.
As far as I know , Goan taste buds favours sea fishes ( either fresh or dried ) rather than sweet water fishes or alternatively I can say Goan recipes goes well with scale less , single bone , sea fishes rather than , with scale boney fishes .
Only couple of small, with scale boney fish species are relished by Goans are viz. Sardine etc.