Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Opinion White Sandalwood V/S Red Sandalwood

Register

Click Here!

ks_ranjit

I'm very new to this domain and i have recently purchased small piece of land (Red Soil) and wanted go for Red Sandalwood plantation as an investment for future.

However, i'm a little confused about which one should i opt as i'm not aware of the diffrences between the two types, their uses, their demand and their current value\cost (Selling price per a fully grown tree i.e 10Yrs)

seeking some kind of help in this regard.

ponsanthan

sandal wood

Dear friend
White sandal wood is the real sandal wood it is called Santalum album
Red sandal wood is called Pterocarpus santalinus- it is used in medicine and carving work. It is an endemic plant and restricted its distribution to the Royalaseema area of Andhapradesh (Thirupathi area). its cultivation will not be much useful. (Pterocarpus marsupium, is a good timber and medicinal tree, it can be cultivated in fallow lands just like teak)
You can grow white sandal wood (Santalum album) - the wood oil is the premium product, used in sandal flavoured soaps, perfumary industries, wood costs Rs. 2000- 3000/ kg.

ks_ranjit

Hi,

I could get some good information on Red Sandalwood (Pterocarpus Santalinus) at "http://iwst.icfre.gov.in/database/Redsanders/index.htm". Hence, Thought of sharing this with you.

I'm looking for information on the current price per tonne\quintal\Kg of this wood. Request someone to provide information on this.

Last edited:

ashokb2007

Hi,

I could get some good information on Red Sandalwood (Pterocarpus Santalinus) . Thought of sharing this with you.

I'm looking for information on the current price per tonne\quintal\Kg of this wood. Request someone to provide information on this.
I am also looking for information to start Red Sandalwood plantation. Can you share what all information you have?

Thanks

ks_ranjit

Hi Ashok,