Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Surekha Vijay Kalel - specializes in goat insemination. Deals in four breeds

Register

Click Here!

editorialteam

Specializes in goat insemination. Deals in four breeds

70% success rate in goat artificial insemination, consistent follow up on the health check of the herd and a phone call away are the distinctive features of service offered by Ms. Surekha Vijay Kalel. She hails from small village called Jamboli in Satara district, Maharashtra. “Initially I was a farmer but on receiving an opportunity from Mann Deshi Mahila Sahakari Foundation to upgrade myself I instantly took it up. I attended the training course on goat rearing and subsequently artificial insemination organized by the foundation in partnership with NARI. And since then there is no looking back!” she shares.
Surekha 01a.jpg
Ms. Surekha has her own goat experimental goat farm. “I first started goat farming hence I could understand the characteristics and behavioural pattern of the goats very well. Hence the experience of managing goats came handy to me when I learnt about artificial insemination. May be that could explain my fairly good success rate of the insemination,” she adds humbly. Boar, Damascus, Alpine Cross and Osmanabadi are the four breeds she manages.