Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Mr. Srinivas Acharya - Self taught farmer engaged in goat farming for milk

Register

Click Here!

editorialteam

Self taught farmer engaged in goat farming for milk instead of trading animals for mutton

“1 liter goat milk can multiply the platelet count in blood naturally for dengue patients. It has many more medicinal properties yet it is not available in the market! No awareness, lack of guidance and faulty assumptions are the main reasons for zero-market for goat milk in India. Goat farmers and traders are in the business only for its mutton not for milk because they feel milk is dominated by dairy and there will be no takers of goat milk. Further in our country we do not have experts to give guidance on producing and selling goat milk commercially. Thereby I have taken the responsibility to develop a profitable and viable business model for goat farming having the focus on goat milk,” says Mr. Srinivas Acharya, founder, Yashodavana Goat Farm. The farm spreads in 50 acre, located 40 km from Mysore, Karnataka.
Yashodavana 2.jpg

The goat milk is sold under the brand name “My Goat” at Rs. 250/litre. “The milk of my farm is superior in taste and doesn’t have any smell,” he adds. Milk is sold in Mysore and Bangalore since past 2 years. The awareness is slowly getting created with mouth to mouth publicity. “My efforts and name is gradually getting the recognition in last 6 months.” All the milking stock is in best health conditions, regularly vaccinated and umpteen care is taken to ensure milk quality is superior.