Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Question Mango cultivation in AP

Register

Click Here!

m9vulp

Dear Sir/Madam, we have 20 acres of land and planning to do the Mango cultivation. I am a novice and do not know all the details to start with. Is there any knowledge base which describes how to go with planning (how many trees per acre, cost of trees, initial expenses, fencing, bore well etc.,) Also the yield and expected income. Please guide me.

Thanks

manojsinghchandel

Economics of Mango Cultivation

Hi

Following is the Economics of mango cultivation for one acre plantation, cost may varies from place to place.

Costs & Returns:

A one acre plantation of the crop is a highly viable proposition. The cost components of such a model along with the basis for costing are exhibited in Annexures I & II. A summary is given in the figure below. The project cost works out to around Rs.1.50 lakhs per acre.

COST OF PROJECT

(Amount in Rs.)

Sl. No.
Component
Proposed Expenditure

Cultivation Expenses

(i)
Cost of planting material

(ii)
Manures & fertilizers

(iii)
Insecticides & pesticides

(iv)
Cost of Labour

(v)
Others, if any, (Power)

Subtotal

Irrigation

(i)
Tube-well/submersible pump

(ii)
Cost of Pipeline
-

(iii)
Others, if any, please specify
-

Subtotal

Cost of Drip/Sprinkler

Infrastructure

(i)
Store & pump house

(ii)
Labour room

(iii)
Agriculture Equipments

Subtotal

Land Development

(i)
Soil Leveling

(ii)
Fencing

Subtotal

Land, if newly purchased (Please indicate the year)*

Grand Total

*Cost of newly purchased land will be limited to one-tenth of the total project cost

The major components of the model are:

· Land Development: (Rs.4.0 thousand): This is the labour cost of shaping and dressing the land site and developing a layout.

· Fencing (Rs.29.60 thousand): It is necessary to guard the orchard by barbed wire fencing to safeguard the valuable produce from poaching.