Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Interested in Farming

Register

Click Here!

mosimms

Dear Sir,

I am a new member on this forum. I have no prior experience in farming ( I work in the Software Industry), but have been interested in taking it up for a while, specifically as a life-style choice to be able to spend more time with the family in the long run, have a green existence and once sustainable - use the farm as an occupation to sustain a living.

I basically need help from the basics of how to acquire agricultural land. I live in Maharashtra and would like to purchase land close to Pune. I believe the State law prohibits a non-farmer from purchasing agricultural land. So, how would I need to go about purchasing the the required land?

If I can get over that hurdle, what is the amount of land holding I should be looking at? and close to what amount should I be prepared to invest in the land?

What model should I be looking at? While money is not the primary motivating factor today (I plan to continue my career in the software industry, until I am sure that the farm income can help sustain the family expenses), for the perspective of earning a sustainable living in the future, the income from the farm would need to be sufficient for the family. Would a Community Supported Agricultural Model be ideal or is it too much work with not equatable income? Or should I look at high return - single crops e.g. Medicinal Crops to fulfill this factor? If I were looking at medicinal plant would an Acre suffice?

Also, what is the approx. investment I should be looking at per acre of land?

Not sure if I am on the right track. Hence need overall help. Any help to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated.

Regards,
M

Last edited:

jkjilani

New Farmer

Dear Sir,