Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Goat Farming near Palani (Dindugul Dt.)

Register

Click Here!

muthukumaar03

Hello,
I am Muthukumar from Doha,Qatar.Basically i am a mechanical engineering professional working in Oil & Gas field here in qatar.
My native place is Palani.I have no agricultural background.But I am so interested in this field and i just want to be an OWN BOSS for myself.
I am planning to set-up a small goat farm (initially) in palani or nearby village areas.I am having following basic queries in my mind.
1.Does the climatic conditions have effects in the goat farming process? Is palani the suitable place for goat farming?
2.How mcuh is the total area of land required including land for fodder cultivation?(if suppose to plan for 25 goats initially and expand it to max.100 in future)
3.Which gov.dept in palani or dindugul district should i need to contact?
4.what is the break even point? (becoz i am planning to take only a year break from my field and get involved in this farm)

I would request all the members of this forum to suggest or give your valuable opinions.
thanks
-Muthu-
(I am a slow walker but i never walk backwards)

smy82482

1.yes the climatic conditions affects a great impact in goat farming.So you have to choose the right breed which can get easily adaptable to change i n any climatic conditions.Every place is suitable for goat farming,if you have enough green fodder in your surrounding.
2.For 25 goats you requires at least one acre of highly fertile land to cultivate the fodder for 365 days.
3.You have to contact the animal husbandry department of your districts.
4.1year,probably depends on your goat farming practices how you manage them.
For more details on goat farming,visit the longest thread of this forum-Goat Farm Solutions.
regards,
Dr.shaikh

samydoss

Dear Mr.Muthu Kumar,