Business Opportunities in Agriculture: 150 Field Interviews (Book)

Terrace gardening training required

Register

Click Here!

rksduniya

I am a rtd govt officer and i have a 1250 sq ft area of terrace available which i would like to to covert into a terrace garden which would house ornamental flowers, medicinal plants, vegetables and fruits. I reside in mangalore and i would like to have guidance and training for setting up the same. Please could some one help me?

kavitha

deepakdessai

1. get the pots and trays of different sizes depending on the type of plant you want to grow. readilly available pots and pots to suit your requirements.
2. never put soil directly on terrace.
3. mix 25% soil (dig top 1 inch of grond soil), 25% dry cowdung, 25% vermi compost, 25% sand together and fill the pots leaving 2" of space on top.
4. sow good quality seeds of your choice available in the market. You can use the available seeds at home but later you need to take more care of your plants.
5. take a 20 litres cylindrical can and convert it into vermicompost unit. place the tank in a plate surroundede by water inorder to prevent ants from eating your worms. earthworms are available in ICAR or krishi kendra. if not use the readily available vermicompost into your unit and the new worms will be born through the eggs present in it.
6. please ensure 24 hours water supply on terrece. watering to be done only early morning before sun rise or after sunset to prevent leaf burn and water loss due to evaporation.

Last edited:

deepakdessai

Advantages of Own Garden.

It is not grown in polluted water.
1.It is not grown by using synthetic fertilizers and pesticides.
2.We get satisfaction that we are consuming which we produced ourselves.
3.The happiness obtained by seeing the vegetables in the plants grown by us cannot be measured.
4.The monthly expenses of the family towards vegetables are reduced.
5.We physically do some work towards this and thus we do some exercise to our body.